March 6, 2020 - Volume 40 Issue 9


The following county boards of education members were elected or, as indicated, reelected as West Virginia School Board Association (WVSBA) Executive Board officers.

Officers were elected at the association’s FY21 Annual Business Meeting held Feb. 22 in conjunction with the organization’s Winter Conference.

WVSBA’s 34-member Executive Board is comprised of four currently-elected executive officers, the immediate past president, 16 co-regional directors, four at-large members and seven past presidents serving as county board members.

Howard M. O’Cull, Ed.D., WVSBA Executive Director, serves as an ex office, non-voting member of the association’s executive board.

Executive Board members terms commence FY21 terms July 1.

WVSBA officers’ biographical information will be included in a future issue of The Legislature.

Rick Olcott (Wood), an association past president, chaired WVSBA’s Committee on Nominations.

WVSBA’s FY21 officers include:

Executive Officers

Pat Murphy (Berkeley)

President – Elect
Christine Carder (Ohio)

Vice President
Gus Penix, Ed.D. (Nicholas)

Financial Officer
Tammy Jo Samples Ed.D. (Upshur)

Immediate Past President
Ryan White, Esq. (Kanawha)

Co-Regional Directors

Region 1 Mike Callaway (McDowell)*
Michael Pritchard (Wyoming)
Region 2 Jared Billings (Mason)
Pat White (Logan)
Region 3 David Pierson (Clay)
Susan Kimbler (Boone)*
Region 4 Jill Cooper (Braxton)
Jeanie Wyatt (Greenbrier)
Region 5 Justin Raber (Wood)*
Torie Jackson, Ed.D. (Ritchie)
Region 6 Warren Grace (Wetzel)
Michelle Chappell (Hancock)
Region 7 Jack Keim (Preston)*
Mary Jo Thomas (Marion)
Region 8 Eric Lyda, Esq. (Morgan)*
Bill Queen, DDS (Berkeley)

Directors At-Large

Carole Garrison (Cabell)*

Stacy Hooper (Brooke)

Gary Ray (Fayette)*

Tracy White (Kanawha)*

Past Presidents

  • Lori E. Kestner (Marshall) – FY18
  • Sam Sentelle, Ed.D. (Putnam) – FY17
  • Greg Prudich, Esq. (Mercer) – FY16
  • Jim J. Crawford (Kanawha) – FY15
  • Gary Kable (Jefferson) – FY14
  • Mike Mitchem (McDowell) – FY11
  • Rick Olcott (Wood) – FY10
  • Steve V. Chancey (Jackson) – FY93

Association officers whose terms expired or who chose not seek reelection include:

Co-Regional Directors

  • Charlotte Hutchens (Raleigh) – WVSBA Region 1
  • Becky Jordan (Kanawha) – WVSBA Region 3
  • Gregory Boggs (Roane) – WVSBA Region 5
  • Paul Derico (Lewis) – WVSBA Region 7
  • Pete Gordon (Morgan) – WVSBA Region 8

Directors At-Large

Jack Keim (Preston)

Adam Starks, Ph.D. (Barbour)

J. D. Wilkins (Pendleton)

Editor’s Note: Mr. Keim was elected as Region 7 Co-Regional Director

* Newly-elected officer

Other Annual Business Meeting (ABM) items

In other action taken during WVSBA’s Annual Business Meeting, voting delegates approved:

  • The scheduling of a planning retreat for determination of association programming for the next few years, including discussions regarding organizational structure and whether WVSBA is best positioned to assist county boards in meeting issues such as declining enrollments and the effects on schooling, a need to develop county superintendent leadership capacity external from state Department of Education programs for such and the need to secure greater interest in county board service. The retreat likely will be held in mid- late-July in Wheeling.
  • An informational campaign to discuss changes in county board member training Procedures as adopted by the state Board of Education’s County Board Member Training Standards Review Committee (TSRC). State Board President David Perry (Fayette) heads this committee which also includes an additional state Board of Education member and four county boards of education members. Procedures, as adopted by the State Board in December, vary significantly from existing county board member training regulations.
  • A review of several scheduled county board member trainings and the format for the statutory county board self-performance as required by §18-5-1(c ).

These matters will be discussed both at WVSBA’s September Delegate Assembly as well as during the Executive Boards’ retreat meeting.


The following are scheduled county board member trainings for the remainder of FY20. Trainings include:

WVSBA Region 5 Meeting
(Counties: Calhoun, Jackson, Pleasants, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wirt, Wood)
March 17, 2020
WVUP Campus, Parkersburg

WVSBA Region 8B Meeting
(Counties: Berkeley, Jefferson, Morgan)
April 2, 2020
Holiday Inn, Martinsburg

WVSBA Regions 1 & 4 Meeting
(Counties: Braxton, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, McDowell, Mercer, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers, Webster, Wyoming)
April 9, 2020
Summersville Convention Center, Summersville

WVSBA Regions 2 & 3 Meeting
(Counties: Boone, Cabell, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, Mingo, Putnam, Wayne)
April 27, 2020
St. Marys Conference Center, Huntington

WVSBA Region 8A Meeting
(Counties: Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Mineral, Pendleton)
May 7, 2020
South Branch Inn, Romney

WVSBA Orientation ‘20
June 15-17, 2020
Lakeview Resort & Conference Center, Morgantown


View the March 2020 Newsletter

Editor's Note: Report provided to WVSBA members by Jim Crawford Sr.  (Kanawha), WVSSAC Board of Director’s Representative (representing county boards).  


Regional Sectionals – Golf, Cross Country, Boys Soccer, Girls Soccer, Volleyball, Cheer, Swim, Wrestling, Tennis, Track, Softball, Baseball, Boys Basketball, Girls Basketball

View the Regional Sectional Board Approved Report